Our law firm gets results for clients
If you're hurt in a car accident in Detroit or anywhere in Michigan, your life can be upended in an instant. Suddenly, you can have serious injuries that require extensive medical care. Your injuries can prevent you from returning to work. You're left with mounting medical expenses and lost income. You should be compensated, but how?
The experienced car accident attorneys at Slocumb Law Firm can help you navigate the complicated process of insurance claims to get the compensation you deserve. We work hard to protect the rights of our clients and help them get their lives back.
Michigan is a "no-fault" state
In general, this means that if you are injured in a car accident, your own insurance company is responsible for paying damages, which is a legal term for financial compensation for your car accident. All drivers in the state are required to buy insurance, with minimum liability limits of:
- $20,000 for bodily injury to a single person
- $40,000 total for all injuries in a single accident
- $10,000 for property damage.
But the true cost of an accident can easily exceed these amounts, so it is a good idea to get more insurance coverage. There is also optional coverage you can choose to provide you with more protection. For example, collision coverage can help pay for the costs of repair to your damaged vehicle, or help pay for the cost of a replacement. Another option is uninsured/underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. This helps pay for the costs of damages caused by a driver who has no insurance, or not enough coverage.
Your options for compensation
You've been hurt in an accident. Now what? Where is your compensation going to come from? Your options include:
- Filing a claim with your insurance company - A basic policy includes coverage for medical expenses (treatment and rehabilitation), mileage reimbursement for travel to get medical treatment, 85 percent of lost wages (for up to 3 years), attendant care (such as a home nurse) and replacement services to help with household tasks you are not able to do yourself (for up to 3 years).
- Filing a "mini-tort" claim - In Michigan, you can seek up to $1,000 from the other driver for the costs of damage to your vehicle from the accident. But the other driver must be more than 50 percent responsible for the accident. (If you are more than 50 percent responsible, the other driver can file this claim against you.)
- Filing a lawsuit against the other driver - If the other driver was more than 50 percent at fault for the accident, you can file a lawsuit for damages. But you can only sue for pain and suffering, disability, loss of support and excess wage loss. Medical expenses and lost wages are covered by your own insurance policy. The other driver's insurance company is usually responsible for paying out any damages that are awarded.
If you've been injured in a car accident in Michigan, we can help. Our attorneys are dedicated to helping you find the compensation you deserve. Call us at 202-737-4141 for a free case evaluation. If we take your case, you don't need to worry about fees. You only pay us if we win.