Jackson Personal Injury Lawyers
Filing a Personal Injury Claim in Mississippi
Navigating the aftermath of a serious accident or injury can be difficult, and you may experience several challenges when it comes to dealing with the insurance company, filing your injury claim, and recovering the fair compensation you are entitled to receive.
But when you have a skilled legal team, like Mike Slocumb Law Firm, on your side, you don’t have to do it alone. When you trust your recovery to our Jackson personal injury lawyers, you can rest assured that we will do everything in our power to maximize your settlement and ease your stress.
Our Jackson injury law firm is known for its aggressive approach and willingness to go to trial. To date, we have recovered more than $500 million in settlements and verdicts for our clients. If you were injured or if your loved one tragically passed away due to the careless, reckless, or wrongful conduct of another, reach out to Mike Slocumb Law Firm to learn how we can help.
We handle all types of personal injury cases, including:
Our Mississippi Personal Injury Attorney is Ready to Help
Dealing with complex personal injury claims on your own can be overwhelming and risky. Our experienced personal injury attorney can evaluate your situation, provide valuable legal advice and counsel, and pursue any potential personal injury claims or other legal remedies on your behalf so that you can obtain fair compensation for your losses. Our Jackson law firm will also handle any insurance negotiating, litigate any cases and – if necessary – represent you in court.
Call (769) 200-1408 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation. Hablamos español.
What Is the Negligence Law in Mississippi?
When another person or party’s negligence causes you injury, you have the right to pursue a personal injury claim. By filing a claim, you can seek financial compensation for certain losses, or “damages,” associated with your injury.
Mississippi law allows you to file a personal injury claim or lawsuit when all of the following things are true:
- Another person or party has a legal responsibility to act in a manner to prevent harm or avoid certain acts that could cause foreseeable injury (“duty of care”)
- The other person or party fails to uphold the duty of care (“breach”), either through negligent or wrongful act or omission
- You are injured and suffer measurable damages for which you can be compensated, such as medical expenses, lost wages, or pain and suffering (“injury”)
- The other person or party’s negligent or wrongful act or omission was the proximate cause of your injuries and resulting damages (“causation”)
Although many injury-causing events are caused by a single party’s negligence, this is not always the case. What happens when you are partly at fault for the accident or incident that led to your injuries?
Under Mississippi’s pure comparative negligence rule, you can still file a personal injury claim when you are partly at fault. In fact, you do not even need to prove that you were less at fault than the other party/parties involved.
However, you will not be able to recover the full amount you are seeking in damages; instead, your recovery will be reduced by the same percentage of fault assigned to you.
For example, imagine you were involved in a car accident where the other driver failed to yield the right of way, crashing into your vehicle and causing you $10,000 in damages.
However, the insurance adjuster finds that you were driving five miles over the posted speed limit at the time of the collision and, therefore, says you were 20% to blame. As a result, your total recovery would be reduced by 20%, meaning you could only recover up to 80% of your total damages, or $8,000.
I thank Mike Slocumb so much for changing my life.
“I thank Mike Slocumb so much for changing my life. David and Mike were like Angels to me. I didn’t know if I would ever walk again.”
Mr. Gracie handled my case, he was superb.
“Mr. Gracie is really, really experienced and an exceptional lawyer.”
I Couldn't Have Been Happier
“My case was actually settled earlier than projected and I couldn't have been happier with the outcome.”
“I dealt with Lowell Moore here and I’ll recommend him to anyone, anytime! The defining factor was his communication... I was able to always deal with Lowell firsthand about any questions or concerns I had.”
“Attorney Lowell Moore was awesome in the whole process! He kept us included in every move made for our accident/injury case. Never had an issue with communication and he really showed us he cares about his clients!!!”
Mississippi personal injury laws allow you to sue for pain and suffering after being injured by the negligent or wrongful conduct of another person, company, or entity.
“Pain and suffering” is a legal term used to refer to the physical and/or mental pain, suffering, distress, and anguish an individual suffers related to a serious injury. It is an example of a non-economic damage, as it does not have a set dollar value.
In Mississippi, “pain and suffering” is typically calculated by adding up the sum of the victim’s economic damages—such as medical bills and lost income—and then multiplying by a factor between 1.5 and 5. Generally speaking, the more severe the injury, the higher the multiplier.
The court may also weigh a variety of factors when awarding pain and suffering, including but not limited to the:
- Severity of the injury
- Impact of the injury on the victim’s life
- Victim’s ability to return to work or obtain gainful employment
- Cost of reasonable and necessary medical care
- Value of lost wages, income, and employment benefits
- Victim’s overall impairment rating
- Loss of earning capacity and future wages or income
At Mike Slocumb Law Firm, we understand that don’t just impact your wallet; they impact nearly every aspect of your life. Our Jackson personal injury attorneys are committed to seeking the full amount of compensation you need to heal and move forward with your life.
In Mississippi, you have a limited amount of time to file a personal injury lawsuit. The statute of limitations on personal injury cases is three years from the date of injury (with some exceptions).
This means that, whether you were involved in an accident with a large commercial truck or slipped and fell due to unsafe conditions on someone else’s property, you typically have just three years to bring your claim in court.
If you miss the filing deadline, the court will almost certainly dismiss your case, and you will be ineligible to sue the liable party for damages.
The sooner you act, the better. While three years may sound like a long time, the months can pass by quickly. Over time, important evidence can be lost, and your memory of the incident may fade.
We encourage you to reach out to the Mike Slocumb Law Firm team as soon as possible so that we can immediately investigate the incident, preserve valuable evidence, and begin negotiating with the insurance company for a fair settlement.
If necessary, we are fully prepared to go to trial and seek the maximum compensation you are owed.
Don’t wait until it’s too late! Contact Mike Slocumb Law Firm online or call us at (769) 200-1408 for a complimentary case evaluation today.